Skip to content

3WW CXLIV

July 1, 2009
tags: ,

For Cubs fans, I offer this haiku

Another collapse
Not so sweet for Cubs fans
Yearn (again) for next year

==========

My Now and Then

Blowing snow and frost
Covered windows keep
Me in the warmth by the
Fire sipping hot chocolate
Thoughts of summer or
Late spring fill me.  A
Longing for the freedom
of warmer times, fresh sweet
Corn roasting on the grill
The sound of the bonfire
As the husks of what used
to be trees collapse into
a Flurry of rising sparks
Even as the fire dies down

I succumb and yearn
for the days of my long ago
Where barefoot days and
mud and Mosquito bites
were just part and parcel
of Summer life.

I turn from the dismal scene
and my silly dreams
of I can’t go back there, to
go and awaken my own
Here and Now.  Maybe to
Play.  In the snow.

For 3WW

17 Comments leave one →
  1. shraddha permalink
    July 1, 2009 3:45 pm

    i love summer.

    Santa makes winter ok too…lol!

    • July 1, 2009 7:06 pm

      I enjoy aspects of all four seasons. But I think I like autumn best.

      And yes, Santa does make Winter fun!

  2. July 1, 2009 3:48 pm

    “My Now and Then” is filled with such great lines. Thanks for sharing.

    Ritual

    • July 1, 2009 7:07 pm

      You are welcome.

      Thanks for providing the wonderful and fun prompts every week. Also, thanks for the nice thoughts!

  3. angie permalink
    July 1, 2009 6:05 pm

    lovely poem, Mark. would look so nice in some sort of community anthology, maybe one with a ‘nature’ theme…hmmmm. wonder where you could find such a place. if only you knew someone who could squeeze you in at the last minute…

    (like the ‘collapse’ applied to baseball, too. being from cincinnati, I understand that all too well!!)

    • July 1, 2009 6:30 pm

      If you figure who that somebody could be, let me know. 😛

      Being a Reds fan must be a trial…

      Glad you liked the poem, Angie

  4. July 1, 2009 6:45 pm

    Beautifully written. I often complain about winter til the humidity begins rising and then wish for cooler air once again.

    • July 1, 2009 7:08 pm

      I’m convinced that we all like what we don’t have at present.

      That’s the joy of different seasons. You learn to appreciate parts of all of them.

  5. July 1, 2009 10:41 pm

    Nicely done. In my experience we always yearn for the opposite season in the middle of the present one.

  6. July 1, 2009 11:07 pm

    The Cubs haiku was very clever…and the second poem truly moved me with its reminiscent feel.

  7. July 2, 2009 1:29 am

    Love them both!

    The details of corn and trees are great1

  8. July 2, 2009 2:19 am

    Nice work, all around. I’m a summer person with never a yearn for winter, never. Enjoyed your post!

  9. July 2, 2009 3:34 am

    Oh what summer USED to be… so sweet a memory. Thank you for bringing it back to me.

  10. July 2, 2009 5:04 am

    Nice one……

  11. July 2, 2009 9:04 am

    Loved the images you drew of the seasons ! even if they were dreams 🙂

  12. July 4, 2009 5:49 am

    Yeah, I grew up a Red Sox fan, so I get it. But those Cubs…

  13. camtodd1846 permalink
    July 8, 2009 9:16 am

    Love the second one.

Leave a Reply

