Skip to content

Get Your Poem On #82

July 9, 2009

Little Man Gone

In the dust of my memory
are footprints

A small man with a booming voice
left them there

His favorite name for me
was “Idjit”

It fit

He never muttered or whispered
Did the Little Man
and You never heard him.

But I did

“Idjit”
Thundering in my skull
Deafening from the inside

I hear echoes now and then
I smile

One afternoon, some time ago
It was sunny and warm
The bird song was clear
The chatter of chipmunks
was more than audible

He was gone

My Little Man

In the dust of my memory
His shadow lingers in the footprints

I miss him
And hope he never returns.

=================

Thanks for reading!

ReadWritePoem82

12 Comments
  1. July 9, 2009 3:07 pm

    Funny how memories show up in our poems. As if we’re trying to exorcise them. Nicely done.

    • July 9, 2009 3:12 pm

      There’s a good tag-line: “Poetic Exorcism at its Finest!”

  2. July 9, 2009 4:20 pm

    Great last line!

    abstracting

  3. July 9, 2009 6:58 pm

    mark an intriguing read to say the least. that final stanza is very cutting and fitting to human emotion. how often we wish to rid ourselves or someone or something only to find that once that someone or something is gone, we him/her or it. a very nice commentary on indecision and human psychology. -lawrence

  4. July 10, 2009 1:33 am

    Very nice ending. I love the duality of that, missing something but enjoying one’s freedom from the very thing missed.

  5. July 10, 2009 2:47 am

    Whoa, the little man’s voice is gone…nicely done.

  6. July 10, 2009 8:20 pm

    I love your ending…also the duality and contradiction of it. Good job.

    Mutiny in Six Parts

  7. July 11, 2009 4:12 pm

    This is terrific! I like it, even though I’m not sure who is the “You” who never heard.

  8. July 11, 2009 4:58 pm

    The ending really rings true–our feelings about the voices inside our heads are so often conflicted.

  9. angie permalink
    July 11, 2009 6:03 pm

    so who is this little man? the conscience? a parental figure?

    I like the love/hate relationship, the good-riddance goodbye.

    and I gave you an award. Because you’re awesome like that.
    Do come see:

    http://therer2doors.wordpress.com/2009/07/11/i-really-want-to-be-the-queen/

  10. July 12, 2009 12:36 am

    good one…..nice last line

  11. July 14, 2009 10:40 pm

    I have to agree with other comments — that ending is spectacular. The notion of missing something and at the same time dreading it is so true.

Comments are closed.

